Doing it.

PROCESS

Starting. I usually not a person that has a problem with getting things done, I’m one of those doers. But there is one distinction that separates me form doing stuff and procrastinating and that is doing stuff that are only for myself. Coming from a background of bad self confidence, it’s hard to believe in yourself and think that you can accomplish things for yourself. That is something I have been working continuously during my time at Hyper and I’m getting better at it, yay!

So this is what I did first.
I booked a meeting with Alfred Ruth, our industry leader during this project, to present my idea and discuss how to finance it. This was several weeks before the official start of the project. It went well and the main part was about fitting it in even though it was a non profit.

Then I booked a meeting with Saga Bäck, sexologist to be and also one of Sweden biggest bloggers about sexology; sagasexologi.se. I have known of her since when I used to blog about sexology as well. The main point was to present the idea and ask her frankly to be a cofounder with me. Which I can now see is super strange. A girl that you meet for the first time asks you to start a company with her! That was also where the idea of having this blog started.

I was also doing some research which you can find under Trends, divided in non profit/social entrepreneurship/startup. 1 of the first articles that helped a lot to go ahead with the start up was 30 advices for avoiding startup failure, from successful founders

Finding, motivating, and retaining good people has always been a challenge. I think we’ve done a good job at this and it shines through in Simple’s product and customer experience. I don’t have much wisdom to share beyond acknowledging that it’s difficult. One tip I can offer is to be incredibly passionate. Hopefully your passion will inspire other like-minded people who are smarter than you to jump on board.

“Hire great people… then get out of their way. You should strive to hire people who are smarter than you and, if you succeed, they will get irritated when you get in their way. Delegate and keep your eye on the important stuff.

– Shamir Karkal, CFO and Co-founder of Simple

This is why I felt that I wanted to find people outside my class, I want people that are in schools, I want the young teens, I want the teachers, I want people that work with sexual education, I want people that work with diverse sexualities, I want people that like me feel it’s awesome to be a volunteer during Stockholm Pride, I want people that like to create awesome user designs, I want people that feel todays education is outdated, I want people that feel that you CAN create change, I want passionate believing kick ass creators!

So I realised that I really need to approach this as a real company from the beginning and give it time to grow. And I needed to express all my thousand thoughts in one clear mission, and also the vision for this mission. Also write what is the value to this, why you as an awesome person would like to be a part of this mission.
And that is what I did the first week when we finally started officially in school.

Leave a Reply

